With the Senate's override of the Governor's concealed weapons veto, it is now up to the sheriffs' offices to implement the bill. Christine McCarty has a story from Jefferson City.
It will be 30 days before Missourians can start applying for a permit to carry concealed weapons. In order to recieve a permit, applicants must complete a firearms safety course, recieve a criminal background check and fullfill qualification requirements. Those requiremnets include being at least 23-years-old, not having been convicted of a felony and having lived in Missouri for at least six months.
The bill's sponsor, Rep. Larry Crawford, says he is confident that sheriffs will be ready next month to issue permits.
Even with the permits, Missourians still won't be able to carry concealed weapons into hospitals, day cares and bars.