For the second holiday season there will be no pardons from Jay Nixon's office.
MDN Menu
MDN.ORG Mo. Digital News Missouri Digital News MDN.ORG: Mo. Digital News MDN.ORG: Missouri Digital News

For the second holiday season there will be no pardons from Jay Nixon's office.

Date: December 16, 2010
By: Jamal Andress
State Capitol Bureau

Missouri's governor has no plans to grant any pardons this holiday season.
RunTime:  0:35
OutCue:  SOC

Wrap: According to the governor's office several hundred people ask Missouri's governor for pardons or clemency every year. 

But since Jay Nixon has held the office, he has not granted a single one.

Nixon spokesman Scott Holste says the governor takes pardons seriously.

Actuality:  HOLSTE5.WAV
Run Time:  00:13
Description: "It really is a big step to grant a pardon because you are in essence setting aside a person's conviction and obviously that is something that we take extremely seriously before taking that step."

Former Gov. Matt Blunt issued Missouri's last pardon in December 2007.

From the state Capitol, I'm Jamal Andress.  

Missouri's governor has decided for the second year in a row that no one in the state deserves a pardon this holiday season.
RunTime:  0:37
OutCue:  SOC

Wrap: Former felons who want their conviction pardoned must send their request to the state Board of Probation and Parole.

Hundreds of those cases get recommended to Governor Jay Nixon.

And not a single one has made it further.

Nixon spokesman Scott Holste on the recommendations...

Actuality:  HOLSTE6.WAV
Run Time:  00:11
Description: "The Governor's not bound by the recommendation of the board of probation and parole. The Governor can make his own decisions to grant a pardon or denying a pardon."

Nixon has denied every pardon during his first two years in office.

The last pardon came in December of 2007 from former Gov. Matt Blunt.

From the state Capitol, I'm Jamal Andress.

Missouri Digital News is produced by Missouri Digital News, Inc. -- a non profit organization of current and former journalists.